Skip to main content

Continuing Education for COVID-19: Self-Care

Online resources to further your professional development during this time.

Self-care refers to activities and practices that we can engage in on a regular basis to reduce stress and maintain and enhance our short- and longer-term health and well-being. Self-care is necessary for your effectiveness and success in honoring your professional and personal commitments. Additionally, in challenging and disruptive periods such as this self-care is very important to prevent burnout. 

Think of it this way: have you noticed that when you’re in an airplane preparing to takeoff the flight attendant demonstrates how to use the oxygen mask? They always say to put your own oxygen mask on first before helping someone else. This is exactly how self-care works. We need to invest in our well-being before we can help others.

Be Active

NEW For the full life experience, put down all devices and walk
In praise of walking. 

NEW Daily Burn - offering a 60-day free trial
This fitness app is committed to 60-days of free access to their collection of over 2000 workouts. 

8 Creative Ways to Move Your Body a Little Bit While You’re Stuck at Home (Self Magazine)
How to shelter in place but still move in your space.

Yoga with Adriene (YouTube)
Adriene and her dog will guide you through yoga exercises, or talk you through a meditation. 

Take Care of Yourself in Coronavirus Quarantine
NYTimes Health advice and exercises.

Self-Care Resources


Graphic by @stacieswift

Concerts, Events & Entertainment

Nightly Met Opera Streams (The Metropolitan Opera)
Free! Live stream at 5:30pm MT (4:30pm PT), with recordings available for 20 hours afterwards.

Lunch Doodles with Mo Willems 
​Free! New episodes posted daily at 11am MT (10am PT)

Drawing Webcasts with Jarrett J. Krosoczka, author & illustrator
Free! Drawing webcasts every weekday at 12pm MT (11am PT)

Five Tiny Desk Concerts to Calm Your Mind (NPR Music). 

From Concerts to Workouts, Here’s All the Free Online Entertainment You Can Enjoy Right Now (Real Simple)

NEW The Quarantine Playlist (WBUR)

NEW Dancing with Myself: Playlist for a Pandemic (Arlington Public Library)