Skip to main content

Get to Know the LiLI Tools

About World Book Web

What is it?

A suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video. Schools will be interested in the following specific tools within World Book Web:

  • World Book Kids - Features content and tools developed especially for young students. The site offers simple navigation, easy-to-read articles, multimedia, comparison tools, interactive games and activities, and teacher resources.
  • World Book Student - Optimized for iPads, this comprehensive sites includes engaging content, built-in features, and fun tools specifically designed to make knowledge accessible and easy-to-find for all kids in elementary through middle school.
  • World Book Advanced - Designed for high school and college students, it is a powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedic, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search.
  • World Book Discover - World Book Discover offers compelling resources specifically developed for students reading below grade level due to language or learning difficulties. The rich collection includes reference articles, text-to-speech capabilities, research tools, and interactive videos

Why use it?

  • Citation Builder - in WB Advanced and WB Student - builds a bibliographic citation using the information you have in the citation format you request. Great tool for creating a bibliography from unique resources.
  • Compare Places - in WB Advanced and WB Student - allows user to compare countries in terms of population, outputs, political climate, and more.
  • Behind The Headlines - in WB Advanced and WB Student - provides current events article along with supporting articles from World Book to learn more about the topics addressed.
  • Teaching With Documents - in WB Advanced - Using primary source documents, find lesson plans and teaching activities for a variety of topics from patents to history to environmental issues.
  • Compare Animals - in WB Kids - users can compare animals side-by-side with information about size, diet, abilities, and much more.
  • Curriculum Correlations - in all WB products - Search for Idaho Curriculum Standards, then link directly to World Book content that can be used to meet that particular standard.
  • Web Quests - in all WB products -  Print-and-go activities designed to help build students' foundational knowledge by taking them on grade-range-correlated expeditions through World Book Online. Access them in the Educator Tools at the bottom of each database.

Try it!

Additional Tutorials for Specialty Functions: